Workers’ Compensation Law
Please review the general requirements for certification and continued certification, as well as the standards for Workers' Compensation Law.
SUMMARY OF STANDARDS
Licensed and in good standing to practice law in North Carolina as of the date of application.
SUBSTANTIAL INVOLVEMENT IN WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAW
During the five years preceding application:
Average of at least 500 hours a year.
Minimum of 400 hours for any one year.
CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION
During the three years preceding application:
At least 36 hours of accredited CLE in workers’ compensation law and related areas.
No less than six hours in workers’ compensation law in any one year.
The remaining 18 hours may be earned in workers’ compensation or related fields: civil trial practice and procedure; evidence; insurance, mediation; medical injuries, medicine, or anatomy; labor and employment law; Social Security disability law; and the law relating to long-term disability or Medicaid/Medicare claims.
Must provide the names of ten lawyers, commissioners or deputy commissioners of the North Carolina Industrial Commission, or judges who are familiar with the competence and qualification of the applicant in workers’ compensation law.
All references must be licensed and in good standing to practice law in North Carolina and have substantial practice or judicial experience in workers’ compensation.
A reference may not be related by blood or marriage to the applicant nor may the reference be a colleague at the applicant’s place of employment at the time of the application.
Four 90-minute sessions (six hours long).
Exam sessions begin around 8:15 am and finish prior to 5 pm.
Includes multiple-choice, short answer, and short essay questions.
Exam administered at the NC State Bar building or through a remote proctoring option.