Skip to main content

Nominate Your Outstanding Colleagues for Excellence

It’s time to recognize an outstanding colleague for excellence, service, or leadership.

LuncheonEach year we are proud to present the specialization awards based on the nominations that we receive from board certified specialists. Your input is very important in this process and we hope that you will take a moment to nominate a colleague. The awards are defined below, and nomination forms are available online. Completed nomination forms are due by March 16, 2018.

The awards will be presented at the Annual Luncheon for Board Certified Specialists on Friday, April 6, 2018, at the Renaissance North Hills Hotel in Raleigh. This event will feature recognition of 25-year and 30-year honorees as well as new board certified specialists and award winners. We hope you can join us for this annual event. RSVP to:

The Sara H. Davis Excellence Award

Nominations for this award are accepted from North Carolina certified specialists. The award is presented to a certified specialist who exemplifies excellence in his/her daily work as an attorney and serves as a model for other lawyers. Special consideration is given for a long and consistent record of handling challenging matters successfully, for sharing knowledge and experience with other lawyers, for earning the respect and admiration of all others with whom the lawyer comes into contact in his/her daily work, and for high ethical standards.

Sara H. Davis Excellence Award Nomination Form

List of Past Recipients

The James E. Cross Jr. Leadership Award

Nominations for this award are accepted from members of the North Carolina State Bar who have worked closely with the nominee. The award is presented to a certified specialist who has taken an active leadership role in his/her practice area through presentations at CLE seminars, scholarly writings, participation in groundbreaking cases, or service to an established professional organization.

James E. Cross Jr. Award Nomination Form

List of Past Recipients

The Howard L. Gum Service Award

This award is given to a specialty committee member who consistently excels in completing committee tasks. The recipient is highly dedicated to legal specialization, donates his/her time to committee responsibilities, and responds to the needs of the staff and the board in exemplary fashion. Nominations can only be accepted from committee members.

Howard L. Gun Award Nomination Form

List of Past Recipients

Mark Your Calendar

Join the Board of Legal Specialization at the Annual Luncheon and Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 6, 2018, at the Renaissance Hotel at North Hills in Raleigh.

RSVP to:

Spotlight: Whitney Scarborough

New Board Certified Specialist in Social Security Disability Law, Wadesboro, NC 

ScarboroughYou were licensed in 2011, what led you to become an attorney?

I was originally attracted to the many uses of a law degree. I wanted to help people solve their real world problems using analytical skills. Now I earn a living by reading, writing, thinking, and arguing—and I enjoy it.

What made you decide to pursue certification? 

I pursued certification as soon as I was eligible as I felt that this would give my clients assurance that, even though I am young, I have substantial experience in this practice area. Additionally, I thought this would be a great opportunity to force myself to take time to study recent changes in the law so that I can best represent my clients.

What's the best thing about recently achieving that goal? 

Feeling confident in my understanding of Social Security disability law. My clients are really excited for me. I hope that the certification helps potential clients understand that even though I am young, I am experienced in this practice field and I take pride in providing high quality legal services. 

What is it like to work with clients seeking assistance with Social Security disability issues in Wadesboro?

Like many rural communities, Anson County has seen its share of hard times. The unemployment rate is usually higher than the state average. Many of our clients have performed manual labor their entire lives, and the work has taken a toll on them. Like most Social Security disability applicants, our clients are frustrated with the long wait times for resolution of their disability cases. Nevertheless, our clients express appreciation that we are local, easily accessible, and spend time with them face-to-face throughout the pendency of their case.

What activities/volunteer groups are you involved in?

I am a member of the Wadesboro Rotary Club and previously served for two terms as the public relations co-chairperson. I serve on the NCAJ Disability Advocacy Executive Committee as liaison to the NCAJ Young Lawyers Division. I am a member of First Baptist Church of Wadesboro. 

Who is your role model and why?

US Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Justice Ginsburg is a pioneer. Her life story, legal career, and strong convictions inspire me to be the best lawyer and citizen that I can be.

Notes from the Bar - Review CLE Records for Recertification

CLEWe recommend that you take the time now to review your CLE record for the current year and the calendar years since your last recertification. The CLE requirements for recertification in some specialties require the applicant to satisfy an annual minimum of CLE credits on topics in the specialty (or related fields) in each of the five years prior to recertification. In addition, “rollover” of CLE credits from one year to the next is NOT allowed to satisfy the CLE requirements for recertification (as it is for regular State Bar membership requirements). Please visit the specialization website to review an outline of the standards for recertification in your specialty.