Skip to main content

Board Chair Transition

The Board of Legal Specialization recently honored Jan E. Pritchett for his service on the board, including the last two years as chair. The resolution of appreciation noted that, among other things:

"Jan greets all he meets with a warmth and energy that instills confidence in his leadership and carries forward the high quality of work and discussion historic of the board. Jan has served as a member of the Board of Legal Specialization with enthusiasm, decisiveness, sincerity, and humor (and is always sharply dressed)."

TransitionWe extend deep gratitude to Jan for his service and welcome Matthew Ladenheim, a trademark specialist from Charlotte, as the incoming Chair. A friendly transition of power took place during the Specialization Luncheon in May.


Jan E. Pritchett (left) board certified specialist in state and federal criminal law since 2005, practicing in Greensboro.

Matthew J. Ladenheim (right) board certified specialist in trademark law since 2013, practicing in Huntersville.




Maintaining Certification - Deadline September 30, 2024 

All board certified specialists should have received an annual fee notice OR a recertification notice on July 1, 2024, via email. Specialists who are due to recertify do not pay the annual fee.

Both processes—paying the annual fee and filing for recertification—can be easily accessed through the State Bar Member Portal. After logging in, select “Specializations” as indicated below:

recert 1 

Select “Pay Specialization Dues and Fees” to pay the annual fee. Or, if recertifying, select “File Recertification Online” as indicated below:

recert 2

Please remember that recertification is based on the previous five years of substantial involvement. If you have any questions about your qualifications, please contact staff for information about the requirements and the process to request a waiver of strict compliance. We are here to help! Email Lanice Heidbrink or Denise Mullen or call 919-828-4620 and ask for the Specialization Department.